email facebook twitter vimeo linkedin email facebook twitter instagram vimeo linkedin

New solo exhibition The Nine Circles opens at Chalk Horse

Image: The General Surgeon, 2017, Archive Pigment Print on Hahnemulle Cotton Rag, 78 x 60.5cm, Edition of 5

John A Douglas | The Nine Circles

November 30 – December 23 2018
Thursday –  Saturday 12pm – 6pm or by appointment
Chalk Horse, 301A, Level 3, 77-83 William Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney 2010
Ph (02) 8668 5736

John A Douglas is presenting his first solo exhibition at Chalk Horse gallery in over three years with his latest exhibition The Nine Circles. On show are video, sound, sculpture and a suite of analog and digital photographic works with a comprehensive catalogue essay by Bec Dean. The Nine Circles is a culmination of research and studio based photographic outcomes and includes digital collage photographs compiled from portraits of the performers in  the Circles of Fire (variations) video, also on show. These digital collage photgraphs are the first outcome of his recent 2017 documentation of museum objects and ruins in Italy as part of  a current createNSW Fellowship mentored by artist Kate Scardifield.  Most notably is the  anatomical wax model ‘Venerina’ by Clemente Susina 1782 photographed in-situ  with the permission of the Museo Pallazzo Poggi, Bologna Italy. Also featured are three large experimental based analogue photographs of the artist own T-cells made using the digital microscopy images produced at a residency at SymbioticA Lab in 2016 and are exhibited as a form of self portraiture. Two glass sculptural pieces, L’ Intrus #1 and L’Intrus #2, made in collaboration with glass artist Nadege Desgenetez  and augmented with handmade stainless steel and patina stands, are informed by a 2015 research visit to the Pasteur Institute in Paris and named after philosopher Jean Luc Nancy’s treatise on his own experience as a heart transplant patient .  The exhibition also draws to a close the trilogy of studio based works beginning in 2012 with Body Fluid – The Seven Cycles, The Visceral Garden – Landscape & Specimen and finally The Nine Circles. It is hoped that an artist’s monograph of the trilogy will be published at some time in future.

Download the full PDF Catalogue here   

(All works copyright 2017 the artist and Chalk Horse and under license by Copyright Australia Viscopy)



This project has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.


This project is supported by the NSW Government through Create NSW.